International Computing for the Atmospheric Sciences Symposium

International Computing for the Atmospheric Sciences Symposium

The International Computing for the Atmospheric Sciences Symposium (iCAS2013) is the eleventh biennial meeting in a series hosted by the National Center for Atmospheric Research under sponsorship from the U.S. National Science Foundation. iCAS2013 will bring together international colleagues to discuss information technology advances and the transformative infrastructure that allows scientists to investigate atmospheric problems as part of the Earth system model. Presentation and discussion topics include:

  • High-performance computing systems and facility challenges, and progress reports and plans from various weather, climate, and research laboratories worldwide
  • Adapting weather and climate Application to next-generation HPC architecture
  • Extreme climate and weather-related events
  • Big Data challenges in the atmospheric sciences challenges

The workshop will also include presentations from key industry vendors.

Wind & Solar Energy Prediction: Challenges and Opportunities

William P Mahoney III

 Sunday, September 8th

1200-1600 Early Registration
1900-2030 Welcome Reception

 

Monday, September 9th

0800-1730 Registration Desk Open
0800 Welcome Coffee
0845 Opening Remarks / Morning Chair - Al Kellie, Anke Kamrath, NCAR
0900 KEYNOTE SPEAKER - William P Mahoney III, NCAR
     Wind and Solar Energy Prediction: Challenges and Opportunities
1000 Tim Pugh, The Centre of Australian Weather and Climate Research
     Australian Computational Climate and Weather Advances
1030 Break
1100 Sara Graves, University of Alabama Huntsville
      Taming Big Data for Weather and Climate Application Needs
1130 Robert Raymond, ORACLE
      Current and Emerging Storage Technologies
1200 Lunch
1400 Afternoon Session Chair - Gene Harano, NCAR
1400 Luis Kornblueh, Max-Planck-Institute
     Real Application on Parallel Systems: A European Community Benchmark Effort
1430 TBD
1500 Break
1530 Seth McGinnis, NCAR
      Distilling Regional Climate Model Data from NARCCAP for Use in Impacts Analysis
1600 Jean-Pierre Panziera, BULL
1630 Adjourn
1800 Reception

 

Tuesday, September 10th

0800-1700 Registration Desk Open
0830 Welcome Coffee
0900 Opening Remarks / Morning Chair - Steve Worley, NCAR
0910 James J. Hack, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
     Leadership Computing Directions at Oak Ridge National Laboratory:Navigating the Transition
     to Heterogeneous Archetectures
0940 Per Nyberg, Cray
     Cray Solutions for Earth System Modeling
1010 Sophie Valcke, CERFACS
     The OASIS3-MCT Parallel Coupler
1040 Break
1110 Warren Washington, NCAR
     Preparing for the Next Probable IPCC Assessment Report: Moving to Higher
     Resolution and Complexity
1140 Jose Baldasano, Barcelona Supercomputing Centre
      Air Quality Forecasting System: Needs of Computational Resources and Database
1210 Adjourn
Afternoon Free

 

Wednesday, September 11th

 

0800-1700; Registration Desk Open
0830 Welcome Coffee
0900 Opening Remarks / Morning Chair - Dave Hart, NCAR
0900 KEYNOTE SPEAKER - Charles Hansen, University of Utah
     A Scientific Visualization Perspective
1000 Sylvie Joussaume, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique
      The European Infrastructure for Earth System Modeling: IS-ENES
1030 Break
1100 Michael K. Patterson, Intel
     Preparing for Exascale: Efficiency from the Siliscon to the Data Center
1130 John Dennis, NCAR
     Data Compression of Climate Simulation Data
1200 Oliver Fuhrer, MeteoSwiss
     Towards Operational Implementation of COSMO on Accelerators at MeteoSwiss  
1230 Lunch
1400 Afternoon Session Chair - Srinath Vadlamani,  NCAR
1400 Stan Posey, NVIDIA
     GPU Progress and Directions for Earth System Modeling
1430 George Mozdzynski, ECMWF
     A PGAS Implementation of the ECMWF Integrated Forecasting System (IFS) NWP Model
1500 Jamie Shiers, CERN
     Big Data and Long-Term Preservation: Challenges and Opportunities
1530 Break
1600 Minsu Joh, KISTI
     The Development of Modeling, Simulation and Visualization Services for the Earth Sciences
     at the National Supercomputing Center of Korea
1630 Don Grice, IBM
      Energy Aware Application Deployment
1700 Adjourn
1800 Reception
1900 Banquet
 

 

Thursday, September 12th

0800-1700 Registration Desk Open
0900 Delayed Start with Welcome Coffee
0930 Opening Remarks / Morning Chair - Steve Sain, NCAR
0930 KEYNOTE SPEAKER - William Kramer, NCSA
     Extreme Scale Computational Atmospheric Science - Insights for the Petascale Vantage Point
1030  Michael Lautenschlager, DKRZ
     CMIP5 Data Management
1100 Dave Norton, PGI
     Trials and Triumphs with Next Generation Compute Nodes
1130 James Kinter, COLA
     HPC and Big Data: COLA's Experience in the Advanced Scientific Discovery Program
1200 Lunch
1400 Afternoon Session Chair - Aaron Andersen, NCAR
1400 Pak Lui, Mellanox
     Advancing Applications Performance With InfiniBand
1430 Joan Kleypas, NCAR
     The Impacts of Climate Extremes on Ocean Ecosystems
1500 Break
1530 Khaled Alhussan, AERO
     Evolution in High Performance Computing
1600 Nancy Collins, NCAR
     Ensemble Data Assimilation for Climate and Weather Models:
     A Fascinating Challenge for Scalable Computing
1630 Robert Dilmore, NetApp
     Design of Peta+scale Storage for High Performance Computing
1700 Adjourn
1800   Farewell Reception

iCAS2013 Participants

An, Jooneun KISTI Korea, Repuplic of rocahn@kisti.re.kr
Andersen, Aaron NCAR United States aaron@ucar.edu
Baldasano, Jose Barcelona Supercomputing Center Spain jose.baldasano@bsc.es
Barkai, David Cray United States dbarkai@cray.com
Beuraud, Alain Meteo-France France Alain.Beuraud@meteo.fr
Biercamp, Joachim DKRZ Germany biercamp@dkrz.de
Blaskovich, David IBM United States davidbla@us.ibm.com
Budich, Reinhard Max Planck Institute fur Meteorologie Germany reinhard.budich@zmaw.de
Cohen, Claude Bull France claude.cohen@bull.net
Collins, Nancy NCAR United States nancy@ucar.edu
Corbeil. Luc CSCS Switzerland travel@cscs.ch
Dennis, John NCAR United States dennis@ucar.edu
Dilmore, Robert NetApp/HPC Consulting United States robert.dilmore@netapp.com
Faxen, Torgny National Supercomputer Center Sweden Sweden faxen@nsc.liu.se
Fisher, Joan NCAR United States jfish@ucar.edu
Foujols, Marie-Aice IPSL/CNRS France foujols@ipsl.jussieu.fr
Fuhrer, Oliver MeteoSwiss Switzerland oliver.fuhrer@ginko.ch
Graves, Sara University of Alabama in Huntsville United States sgraves@itsc.uah.edu
Grice, Donald IBM Corporation United States dgrice@us.ibm.com
Hack, James Oak Ridge National Laboratory United States jhack@ornl.gov
Hansen, Charles University of Utah United States hansen@cs.utah.edu
Harano, Gene NCAR United States snow@ucar.edu
Hart, David NCAR United States dhart@ucar.edu
Jin, Zhiyan National Meteorological Center of China China jinzy@cma.gov.cn
Joh, Minsu KISTI Korea, Republic of msjoh@kisti.re.kr
Joussaume, Sylvie CNRS/IPSL France sylvie.joussaume@lsce.ipsl.fr
Jursik, Dave Invitee United States djursik@comcast.net
Kamrath, Anke NCAR United States anke@ucar.edu
Kellie, Al NCAR United States kellie@ucar.edu
Killingsworth, Marcia NCAR United States marciak@ucar.edu
Kinter, James COLA/GMU United States kinter@cola.iges.org
Kleypas, Joanie NCAR United States klepas@ucar.edu
Kornblueh, Luis Max Planck Institute for Meteorology Germany luis.kornblueh@zmaw.de
Kramer, William NCSA/University of Illinois United States wtkramer@illinois.edu
Kwon, Oh Kyoung KISTI Korea, Republic of okkwon@kisti.re.kr
Lautenschlager, Michael DKRZ Germany lautenschlager@dkrz.de
Ludwig, Thomas DKRZ Germany ludwig@dkrz.de
Lui, Pak Mellanox Technologies United States Pak@mellanox.com
Mahoney, Bill NCAR/RAL United States mahoney@ucar.edu
McGinnis, Seth NCAR United States mcginnis@ucar.edu
McGuire, Sean Xyratex United Kingdom sean_mcguire@xyratex.com
Moore, Amy NCAR United States abauer@ucar.edu
Mozdzynski, George ECMWF United Kingdom George.Mozdzynski@ecmwf.int
Navaux, Philippe UFRGS Brazil navaux@cpovo.net
New, Gary NCAR/NWSC United States garyn@ucar.edu
Norton, Dave STmicroelectronics United States dave.norton@pgroup.com
Nyberg, Per Cray United States nyberg@cray.com
Nychka, Douglas NCAR/IMAGe United States nychka@ucar.edu
Panetta, Jairo CPTEC Brazil jairo.panetta@gmail.com
Panziera, Jean-Pierre Bull France jean-pierre.panziera@bull.net
Patterson, Michael Intel United States michael.k.patterson@intel.com
Pecce, Jay IBM United States jpecce@us.ibm.com
Posey, Stan NVIDIA United States sposey@nvidia.com
Prill, Florian Deutscher Wetterdienst Germany Florian.Prill@dwd.de
Pugh, Tim Austrailian Bureau of Meteorology Australia t.pugh@bom.gov.au
Ramos, Bonnie Oracle United States bonnie.ramos@oracle.com
Raymond, Robert Oracle United States robert.raymond@oracle.com
Sain, Steve NCAR United States ssain@ucar.edu
Salmond, Deborah ECMWF United Kingdom das@ecmwf.int
Schattler, Ulrich Deutscher Wetterdienst Germany Ulrich.Schaettler@dwd.de
Semtner, Albert Naval Postgraduate School United States bsemtner@sbcglobal.net
Takahashi, Keiko JAMSTEC Japan takahasi@jamstec.go.jp
Thiel, Ulla Cray Germany uthiel@cray.com
Unger, Marijke NCAR United States marijke@ucar.edu
Vadlamani, Srinath NCAR United States srinathv@ucar.edu
Valcke, Sophie CERFACS France valcke@cerfacs.fr
Washington, Warren NCAR United States wmw@ucar.edu
Weger, Isabella ECMWF United Kingdom isabella.weger@ecmwf.int
Wilhelmsson, Tomas ECMWF United Kingdom Tomas.Wilhelmsson@ecmwf.int
Worley, Steve NCAR United States worley@ucar.edu